How to Delete Online Social Media Accounts That Are No Longer Used

[ad_1]

Protecting your online identity is essential to your brand, reputation and creditworthiness, far more important than updating your Instagram and Facebook daily. Several times a year, the news will cover a serious data breach of information held by major banks, insurance companies and/or social media platforms. Once the data is taken, it can be misused or even lead to identity theft. Deleting your old social media accounts is an essential step to provide some identity protection. It is imperative that you keep your online access to your current accounts safe and secure and that you delete all old accounts.

Here is a guide that will help you delete your old accounts on the most popular social media sites.

Facebook
By switching to the biggest social networking platform of all time, Facebook, with over a billion users, makes things simpler and makes it incredibly easy for you to deactivate your account.

Once you have entered the “settings” tab from the down arrow in your browser, select your Facebook information, then select delete your account and information. When you are in this menu, you will delete your account and must add the password to confirm.

Foursquare
Foursquare started the internet over a decade ago to let friends know where you are and find where they or they are. In order to delete your Foursquare account, you will need to access the platform from your computer. Go to the “Privacy” tab of the settings where you need to scroll to the end of the page and find an option to delete your account. When you select this option, you will be taken to a page where you need to confirm whether you want to delete your account or not.

Google
Google is the undisputed leader of search engines with one of the most interconnected ecosystems. By creating an account for Google, you can access a plethora of different apps and websites without having to create separate accounts. To delete your Google+ or Gmail account, you will need to delete your entire Google account.

Go to “Google Account Settings” and choose “delete account and services”. There you will see the “remove products” option, where you can access all your Google apps. You must first log in to all websites before you can delete your account.

instagram
Facebook’s younger sibling is perhaps the most used social media platform by millennials, according to Hootsuite. With its focus on visual communication, it’s the go-to place to find talented artists.

Deleting your account is very simple and takes little time to complete properly. Although you can manage your privacy settings using the mobile app, you must use an internet browser to delete your account. Simply go to the “delete your account” page, and there you will need to provide a reason for deleting your account. Once you provide the reason, you will provide your password and then select the option to permanently delete the account.

Linked to
LinkedIn is the social network for professionals looking for new opportunities to connect with other professionals and grow their business and career. If you are on the platform, the profile must be complete and up to date. If you no longer use the platform, delete the account. In the top right corner of any LinkedIn page, you’ll first need to navigate to the “Privacy & Settings” tab. From there, choose the “account” tab and then select close your LinkedIn account. You will need to review and verify your account before you can delete it. From there, you will see a message telling you the consequences of deleting your account, then the last page which will be for confirmation.

My space
This social media platform has been bought and sold many times since its glory days (2005 to 2009). In 2016, their database was breached and leaked to a black market website. To delete your MySpace account, you will first need to log in to the account you wish to delete. From there, select the “gear” icon and choose the “account” tab. There you will see an option to delete your account. Before you can delete your account, you will need to provide a reason, after which you will receive a confirmation email. Open the email and follow its instructions.

pinterest
Pinterest is a web-based bulletin board or bulletin board, a place to bookmark images found online. To delete your Pinterest account, you will first need to go to the triple dot icon on the website and select the “change settings” option. From there, you will need to go down to the “account” page and select “deactivate account”. From there you will click “yes” to receive an email, which you will need to open and follow in order to permanently delete your account.

Snapchat
Snapchat is a service that for a short time rivaled Facebook and was the go-to social media app for many people. As is the case with Instagram, you cannot delete your account from the mobile app; you should remove it from an appropriate browser.

From the site browser, go to “delete your account” and enter your username and password. Your account does not delete itself instantly and it takes approximately 30 days to delete all information.

Twitter
No matter how famous you are, everyone has a Twitter account. Many people follow and get their news from everyone’s tweets, from legitimate journalists and media organizations to enthusiastic fans of our favorite sports teams. Deleting your Twitter account is incredibly easy. It takes at least 30 days for all your tweets to be deleted. Select “Settings and privacy” from the menu form and navigate to the Account tab. From there you will need to deactivate your account and enter your password to confirm the action.

tumblr
Tumblr probably has one of the liveliest communities on the internet, which is why it’s very easy for anyone to delete their account. As long as you can delete your account, content that other people have reposted will remain available on the site. To delete your account, click on the person icon on the website, and go to “settings”. There, select “delete account”, entering your email and password to confirm the process. Tumblr also states that it takes them a few days to properly erase all your content.

WhatsApp
Whatsapp is a free messaging app for sending voice over IP (VoIP), pictures, video calls and documents using a mobile device. To delete your account, just open your Whatsapp and go to the “settings” menu. From there, select the account and go to “Delete my account”, after which you will need to enter your phone number in international code and press “delete”.

Youtube
YouTube is second only to Facebook as a social media platform, owned by Alphabet, owner of Google’s parent company. A well-managed channel can help improve website ratings. An unused channel must be deleted. Deleting your channel from the biggest video sharing platform on the internet is quite simple. You will first need to sign in to your YouTube account and access your advanced settings. From there, choose “delete channel” and then opt to “delete channel permanently”. This will launch a prompt where you can confirm if you want to delete your channel or if you still want to keep it.

Latest tips
According to industry experts and a recent Consumer Reports article, it is recommended that you reduce the risk of misuse or theft of your personal and business data by protecting your current accounts and deleting accounts that are no longer in use.